Teachers Service Commission TSC Boss 2023-2024

By | August 28, 2023

Teachers Service Commission TSC Boss 2023-2024

Teachers Service Commission TSC Boss – Details:

Dr. Jamleck Muturi

Commission Chairman

Dr. Jamleck Muturi John was appointed TSC Chairman on April 29th 2021. Until his appointment, Dr. Muturi served in the Embu County Government as Executive Committee Member (CECM) and was in charge of Education Science, Technology and ICT.

A career educationist, Muturi has had a long illustrious career spanning over 30 years. He has served as CEC in various Ministries which are Lands, Water, Environment and Natural Resources; Health; Trade, Tourism, Investment & Industrialization, lately served in Agriculture, Livestock, Fisheries and Cooperatives in Embu County.

He has lectured at:  University of Embu, Kenyatta University, Part time Lecturer University of Nairobi, Meru University College of Science and Technology and Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences (SLU) – Uppsala Sweden.  Muturi has also served as a teacher in various schools in Kenya, as an assistant teacher in Kathakwa Secondary in Embu, Huruma Girls Nairobi; and has been in administration as Deputy Principal Nguviu Boys – Embu, Principal St. Joseph M’tetu – Embu, St. Stephen Boys Kavutiri High School and Moi High School – Mbiruri.

He holds a PhD in Agricultural Entomology from Kenyatta University; a Higher Diploma in Human Resource Management from the Institute of Personnel Management, Kenya (IPM (K), Master of Science in Agricultural Entomology from Kenyatta University (KU), Master of Business Administration – Global Business Management (MBA – GBM) from United States University – Africa – (USIU – Africa) and a B.Ed. Science in Botany and Zoology; Kenyatta University.  He has published several scientific peer reviewed journals in areas of Science.

The Secretariat

Dr. Nancy Macharia

  • Commission Secretary

Ibrahim Mumin

  • Director (Administrative Services)

Mr. Mumin was employed by the Teachers Service Commission in 1983 and served as a teacher in various schools before appointment as District Education Officer and later District Inspector of Schools. He joined the secretariat in 1988 and appointed to head of Human Resource Development division. Prior to his current appointment, he was the Senior Deputy Director in charge of Administration.

He holds a Master of Education (M.Ed.) degree in Education Management and Policy Studies from the University of Bristol and a Bachelor of Education from the University of Sterling (UK). He has also attended various management courses both locally and abroad that include; Strategic Planning and Management at the University of Witwatersrand (South Africa), a Programme on Developing Strategic Skills for Organizational Development (London), an Advanced Training Program in Educational Planning and Management (UNESCO-Paris), Strategic Leadership Development Programme (Kenya Institute of Administration) and Pro-Active Business Excellent models (Eastern and Southern Management Institute) among others.

Cheptumo Ayabei

  • Director (Finance)

Mr Ayabei Joined Teacher Service Commission in 1999 as a Finance Officer and rose through the ranks to Director Finance Directorate in 2009. He worked in the Ministry of Education as an Assistant Secretary and Senior Assistant Secretary Finance in 1990 to 1999.

He has Msc in Finance and Banking from University of Stirling United Kingdom, Bachelor of Education Arts option from Kenyatta University and CPA (K). He also has Certificate in Public Finance and Accounts from University of Connecticut and Stratlyclyde University Scotland UK. He is a member of Institute of Certified Public Accountants of Kenya. His vision is to make the Finance directorate proactive in identifying issues and offering innovative solutions to enable the Commission accomplish its goal of providing quality services to its clients more effectively.

Charles Gichira

  • Director (ICT)

Dr. Reuben N. Mugwuku

  • Director (Quality Assurance & Standards)

Dr. Reuben Nthamburi Mugwuku was appointed Director Quality Assurance and Standards. He holds a Doctor of Philosophy degree in Educational Communication Technology from Moi University, a Master of Education degree (Curriculum Option) from University of Nairobi and a Bachelor of Education degree in Mathematics and Geography from Egerton University.

Dr Mugwuku is the immediate former Deputy Director Basic Education and Learning at the Kenya National Commission for UNESCO. Previously he served as a Deputy Director Basic Education and Senior Assistant Director E-Learning at the Kenya Institute of Curriculum Development.

Cavin Anyuor

  • Director (Legal, Labour and Industrial Relations)

Dr. Julius O. Olayo

  • Director (HRM & D)

Dr. Julius Ochieng Olayo, PhD, LLB joined Teachers Service Commission on 2nd January 2020. Dr Olayo has a wealth of experience in organizational development, change management and development of policies and strategy frameworks in both the private and public sectors spanning over 24 years. Prior to joining the Commission, he was the director human resource and administration at National Industrial Training Authority (NITA).

Dr Olayo has also served as the head of human capital at the Independent Policing Oversight Authority (IPOA). He has also worked at Mastermind Tobacco Company, Kenyatta University, Consumer Insight Africa, Kenya Forest Service and Management University of Africa.

Dr Olayo holds a Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) in Human Resource Management from Jomo Kenyatta University, MBA (HRM) from Kenyatta University, B.A Social Science from Kenyatta University, Bachelor of Laws Degree (LLB) from the University of Nairobi and a Post Graduate Diploma (HRM) from Kenya Institute of Management.

Dr Olayo is a Certified Human Resource Professional (CHRP-K) from the College of Human Resource Management Kenya and a Certified Trustee by College of Insurance Kenya. In addition, he is a full member of the Institute of Human Resource Management(IHRM) and holder of HR Practicing Certificate.


Gabriel Mathenge

  • Director (Operations)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *